MatrixHR vs PayPeople vs FlowHCM comes down to how you want to buy and how big you are. MatrixHR publishes flat monthly prices and a 30-day free trial, and suits companies up to a few hundred people that want payroll checked by a second person. PayPeople and FlowHCM quote on request and offer native mobile apps and broader HR suites, which suits larger companies that want a sales-led rollout. Every fact below was checked on each vendor's own website on 22 October 2026.
MatrixHR is our product. We have tried to be fair: where PayPeople or FlowHCM publish something MatrixHR does not have, we say so.
MatrixHR vs PayPeople vs FlowHCM at a glance
| MatrixHR | PayPeople | FlowHCM | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published price | $25, $69 or $149 a month, flat; Pakistani companies billed in rupees | Not published; plans in PKR excluding taxes, billed annually; "Contact Sales" | Not published; quote covers licence, implementation and support |
| Free trial | 30 days, with 100 AI credits | Sign-up and demo offered; trial length not stated | Free demo on request |
| Company size | Up to 25, 100 or 300 employees, then $0.50 per employee | Unlimited users on every plan | 50 to 10,000+ employees |
| Biometric devices | ZKTeco terminals push punches in, beside browser clock-ins | ZKTeco listed | ZKTeco, Suprema, Hanvon, Anviz, Realand, ACTAtek |
| Payroll | Tax, EOBI and provident fund in a rule set versioned by date; a second person must approve each run | Payroll automation and payslips; PF integration | Payroll management module |
| Bank file | Meezan, HBL or generic; invalid IBANs listed | Not stated on the pages checked | Not stated on the pages checked |
| Mobile | Web app on a phone; leave approved on WhatsApp with a one-time code | Android and iOS app | Android and iOS app |
| Wider HR | Recruitment and onboarding (Growth); performance, 360s and learning (Business) | Performance and recruitment on every plan; AI, LMS and live-location add-ons | 18 modules, incl. recruitment, performance, training, travel, help desk |
| Where it runs | Cloud, or a private copy on your own server | Cloud | Cloud or your own server |
| Integrations | QuickBooks journal, API keys, webhooks, single sign-on | SMTP, QuickBooks, Odoo | Not listed on the pages checked |
| White-label | Yes, for resellers | Not stated | Resellers listed; white-label not stated |
| Best for | Up to ~300 staff who want a published price, a trial and a second approver on payroll | Companies that want a native app and HR add-ons, bought annually | Larger companies that want many HR modules and an implemented rollout |
"Not stated" means we did not find it on the vendor's public pages on the date checked, not that the product lacks it. Ask each vendor directly.
Pricing: published vs on request
This is the biggest practical difference. MatrixHR's price is on its website: $25 a month for up to 25 employees (attendance and leave), $69 for up to 100 with payroll, and $149 for up to 300 with performance reviews and learning, then $0.50 for each employee after that. A yearly plan costs ten months.
PayPeople's pricing page lists Attendance, Growth and Enterprise plans in PKR, billed annually, each with a Contact Sales button. FlowHCM's pricing page explains that the quote depends on the number of employees, the modules you want and whether it runs in the cloud or on your server, and includes licence, implementation and support.
Neither model is wrong. A published price lets you budget before you talk to anyone; a quote can include implementation work that a self-service product leaves to you. Compare the total for your headcount over a year, including setup.
Attendance and ZKTeco
All three take punches from ZKTeco terminals, the most common machines in Pakistani offices and factories. FlowHCM lists the widest range of device makers. MatrixHR's angle is what happens after the punch: attendance, unpaid leave, claims and loan instalments are already in the draft payroll run, so nobody exports a file. See ZKTeco attendance software for payroll.
Payroll controls
MatrixHR will not let the person who prepared a payroll run approve it, and the bank file leaves out anyone with an invalid IBAN and lists them. Tax slabs, EOBI and provident fund rates live in a rule set versioned by effective date. PayPeople lists payroll automation, payslips and PF integration; FlowHCM has a payroll management module. Ask each vendor to run last month's payroll on your data before you decide. To check the tax on any one salary, use our salary calculator for Pakistan.
Mobile and approvals
If your staff expect an app from the store, PayPeople and FlowHCM have one. MatrixHR is a web app that works on a phone, and managers approve or reject leave from WhatsApp with a one-time code that expires in 24 hours, which many managers find faster than opening an app.
Which should you choose?
- Choose MatrixHR if you have up to a few hundred employees, want to see the price and try it on your own payroll before talking to sales, and want a second person to approve every run.
- Choose PayPeople if a native mobile app, unlimited users and AI or learning add-ons matter more than a published price.
- Choose FlowHCM if you are a larger company that wants many HR modules, an implementation team and the option of your own server.
Whichever you shortlist, send all three the same brief: your headcount, your devices, how payroll is approved today and which bank you pay through, and ask for the price in writing.
| Plan | Starter | Growth Most popular | Business |
|---|---|---|---|
| Monthly | $25 a month | $69 a month | $149 a month |
| Yearly | $250 a year (2 months free) | $690 a year (2 months free) | $1,490 a year (2 months free) |
| Employees | up to 25 | up to 100 | up to 300 (+$0.50 per extra employee) |
| Admin users | 2 | 5 | 15 |
| Includes | Employee records, Attendance, Leave requests & approvals, Basic reports | Everything in Starter, plus: Payroll & payslips, Expense claims, Shifts, Employee self-service | Everything in Growth, plus: Multi-location, Custom approval flows, Audit log, Priority support |
Sources
- MatrixHR, home page and pricing — last checked 22 October 2026
- PayPeople, Pricing — last checked 22 October 2026
- PayPeople, home page — last checked 22 October 2026
- FlowHCM, Pricing — last checked 22 October 2026
- FlowHCM, Modules — last checked 22 October 2026
- FlowHCM, Biometric attendance system — last checked 22 October 2026